Blog Awards

I’d like to thank The Friendly Giraffe for the Liebster Blog Award and Dorothy Mcdonall and Journey Count for the Versatile Blogger Awards.  Thanks for all the kind words and support!  Blogging is a truly dynamic and exciting community, and I am proud to be a part of it with you.

2wny8t1 images

The Rules:

1. Share 11 random facts about yourself

2. Answer the 11 questions from the person who nominated you

3. Nominate 11 new bloggers and ask them 11 questions

11 Random facts about myself

  1. My husband says that I’m a paradox wrapped in an enigma.
  2. I embrace my inner child.
  3. I enjoy playing video games during the autumn and winter months.
  4. I’ve been to more places than I’ve blogged about.
  5. This may surprise you, but I’m older than the Captain.
  6. I like to read and not the stuff you might think.
  7. I’m a huge fan of Game of Thrones and am loving season 3 so far!
  8. My motto: “Fortune favors the bold.”
  9. I’m the daughter and granddaughter of United States veterans.
  10. I am the antithesis of the Asian woman stereotype.  I am stubborn as hell, temperamental, and a bit of a smart ass.
  11. I embrace my femininity, but can rough it with the best of them.

Questions I was asked

1. When overseas, what measure do you take in order to “blend in”? Do they work? 

Be yourself, be respectful, and don’t be that ugly American tourist everybody hates!  Works everytime! 🙂

2. How important is it for you to learn the language before traveling to a foreign country? Share a funny story of a misunderstanding due to a language barrier.

I always try to learn a few essential words for whatever country I go to.  Often times it’s easier said than done.  Especially with difficult languages like Arabic, Turkish, and Chinese, but I do my best.

When my husband and I were planning our wedding in Rome we spoke with a Vatican representative about the possibility of having our wedding photographs taken at the Vatican Gardens (we were married at Saint Peter’s Basilica).  When we asked if the wedding party would be permitted in the gardens we were politely but firmly informed that there was no way they would allow a party in the gardens!  I guess some things don’t translate well even when you’re speaking the same language.

3. If you hop on a plane to celebrate a specific festival, ceremony or holiday – what would it be and where?

The Lantern Festival in Chiang Mai, Thailand.

4. List the top 5 places (countries, landmarks, cities, etc) you would recommend everyone visit before they die.

  1. The Sahara Desert
  2. Saint Peter’s Basilica, Vatican City
  3. Santorini, Greece
  4. Cusuco National Park, Honduras
  5. New York City, New York

5. What’s the “riskiest” travel stunt you’ve ever pulled?

As travel always carries innate risks it is hard to pin down one particular incidence.  However, traveling in the Sahara Desert has to be up there, especially given recent instability.  It probably didn’t help to view it from the roof of our moving Toyota Land Cruiser, but the view was so much better from up there!

6. What are the BEST and WORST foods you’ve had while traveling overseas?

The worst has to be the aptly named Good Mood Good Food in Dubai.  Nestled in the oldest part of the city my husband and I thought it would be a good place to unwind after a stressful drive through the Arabian Peninsula.  The restaurant should have carried a warning sign that if your mood was not the best the food would follow suit.  The Captain had an average slate of grilled chicken while I had the most atrocious attempt at Indian food the world had ever seen!  Perhaps I’ll return one day, but only if I’m in good spirits.

The best is often where the locals eat- kebab in Turkey, tajine in Morocco.  Get off the tourist path and you won’t go wrong.

7. Describe your ideal sunset. Where would it be?

It may sound cliche, but there is something about African sunsets that just feel different – the colors are more vibrant, the palette more varied. You feel connected to the land in a more visceral way. My ideal sunset would be sharing a drink with my husband while the sun went down anywhere on this most magical of continents.

8. If you could meet up with any historical figure (poet, politician, activist, singer, etc) in their home country, who would you meet, and why?

Ernest Shackleton.  His Antarctic expedition on the Endurance was one of the greatest examples of human leadership in the history of the world!

9. What’s the best part of coming home after your travels?

My son.  He’s still a little too young to take on our adventures considering the places his father and I prefer to go, but nothing beats his smile when I come home to him.

10. What is your favourite inspirational travel quote?

“Africa is mystic; it is wild; it is a sweltering inferno; it is a photographer’s paradise, a hunter’s Valhalla, an escapist’s Utopia.  It is what you will, and it withstands all interpretations.  It is the last vestige of a dead world or the cradle of a shiny new one…It is all these things but one thing- it is never dull.” -Beryl Markham

11. What are your 5 “must haves” when packing for an overseas adventure?

  1. My Canon 60D
  2. A pair of stilettos and a little black dress (you can’t spend all your time out in the wild)
  3. Sunglasses
  4. My travel journal
  5. An open attitude

My 11 nominees

  1. Photo Here Photo There
  2. Foot Prints and Memories
  3. Planet Bell
  4. Left Blink
  5. Browsing the Atlas
  6. Life is a Gift
  7. Wind Against Current
  8. Photography by Lucas
  9. The Globe Trotting Canuck
  10. Musings on Arab Culture
  11. Krishna’s Pictures and Notes

My questions

  1. Why do you blog?
  2. What is the most embarrassing thing that happened during your travels?
  3. Favorite travel song?
  4. What has been your most terrifying experience?
  5. Indiana Jones or James Bond?
  6. What is the one thing you are most proud of?
  7. Where was your first trip and how old were you?
  8. What’s the worst place you’ve ever been to?
  9. What are some words you live by?
  10. What’s your biggest fear?
  11. When you’re not traveling, what do you spend most of your free time doing?
