2011 A Year in Review

Happy New Year, my friends! What a momentous year 2011 has been for my husband and I! We are thankful for all the wonderful experiences that we have encountered this year and feel truly blessed.

Quite honestly 2011 started off a bit rocky and left me feeling unlike myself. I’ve always believed that everyone is fighting some sort of personal battle that can be recondite to people who have never been in the same situation so I think it is best to always show compassion and to keep an open mind. Unfortunately, not a lot of people think this way and are quick to pass judgement instead. Luckily, I have a wonderful husband whose love and support got me through the incredibly tough times and it wasn’t long before I was back to being myself and wanting to travel again.

Our first international trip of 2011 was to Honduras to celebrate my 29th birthday. With the exception of our honeymoon, hubby and I never plan trips ahead of schedule so we don’t really know where we’re going until it’s two or three days away. We usually decide on the destinations that have the most empty seats on the airplane. After looking at flights we discovered that San Pedro Sula, Honduras and Copenhagen, Denmark had the most promise. Just days earlier, Chicago had been hit with the second largest snow storm in its history so it was decided that Honduras with its warm tropical climate was the place to go. Despite only being there for three full days we had an incredible time!

Soon it was the month of May and my husband decided to take me to La Fortuna, Costa Rica to celebrate our one year wedding anniversary! We stayed at a gorgeous eco-friendly resort and received our own private hut complete with driveway. For the four days that we were there we went canyoning, relaxed, hiked, white water rafted, played in the pool, and had plenty of time for romance. Our time in Costa Rica was magical and unforgettable.

A week and a half later, the Captain and I were in Southern California to attend my little sister’s wedding. Before her big day my dear husband and I spent a lot of time on the beach and hung out with extended family. I also went to Disneyland for the first time! The Captain and I love Southern California and even though we don’t know where we’ll end up due to his career we would like to eventually settle down there. Earlier in the year we got the opportunity to live in Australia and then Hong Kong but decided to turn it down. Who knows where 2012 will take us?

Three months later the Captain and I were on a Boeing 777 on our way to the exotic United Arab Emirates. Dubai is an amazing place, and if you’ve never been there I suggest you visit! We also made plans to visit Oman and after a very long drive across the Arabian Peninsula we arrived in Muscat.

Traveling continues to be a large part of our marriage. While not quite a full raison d’etre, travel enriches our lives and the understanding we gain from other cultures is its own reward. Aside from the trips I’ve mentioned there was a lot of domestic travel – New York, New Jersey, Minnesota, Michigan, Texas, Washington State, Arizona, New Mexico, Georgia, Florida, etc. We also went to Canada which was a lot of fun!

While 2011 was a year of travel and adventure it was also the year of new beginnings for the Captain and I. On a beautiful July morning I discovered that I am with child. Out of all the amazing experiences and adventures that 2011 brought into our lives, nothing was more exciting to my husband and I than finding out that we are pregnant with our first child. The Captain and I cannot wait to meet our future son next spring and to start this new chapter in our lives. Can you imagine all the places our precious little boy will go once I feel he is ready to embark on some of our travels? We count our blessings everyday and hope that 2012 will be the best year yet!

May 2012 be a joyous and prosperous year for all of you!

